NEDA decides on seat sharing in Nagaland; BJP to fight alone in Meghalaya

Guwahati: The saffron party has concluded the seat-sharing agreement in Nagaland ahead of the assembly elections in three northern states, Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland.

Speaking to the media, NEDA convenor and chief minister of Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma while speaking to media said, “We have already finalized the seat-sharing agreement with Nagaland’s NDPP and have decided that BJP will fight in 20 seats and NDPP will fight in 40 seats.”

Speaking further on the alliance in Meghalaya and Tripura, the NEDA convenor stated that the saffron party plans to stand alone in those states where there will be no seat sharing or alliance. However, TIPRA MOTHA is not a part of NEDA in Tripura, where a separate BJP group has been formed to form an alliance with other regional parties.

On January 18, the Election Commission of India released the election timetable for the three North Eastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland.

The dates were announced at a press conference hosted by ECI in New Delhi’s Rang Bhawan auditorium of the All India Radio. Anup Chandra Pandey, Arun Goel, and Rajiv Kumar, the chief election commissioner of India, served as the conference’s moderators.

According to the notification, voting in Tripura will take place on February 16 and voting in Meghalaya and Nagaland will take place on February 27.

The counting of votes for Tripura will take place on March 2. Tripura’s assembly session will end on March 22, 2023.

The Tripura Legislative Assembly has 80 members. With a resounding victory in the 60-member Tripura Assembly in 2018, the BJP-Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) coalition ended the Left’s 25-year rule on the state.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) received 16, the IPFT received 8, and the Congress came in last with nil seats, winning 35 of the 60 seats up for grabs.

3,328 voting places will be available throughout the state of Tripura.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.