Sikkim Bags Two National Awards for Teachers

Ministry of Education, Government of India has recently announced the National Award for Teachers, 2020. Mrs. Archana Gurung, Principal of Government Senior Secondary School Jorethang, South Sikkim and Mr. Lomas Dhungel, Graduate Teacher (Mathematics) of Makha Senior Secondary School, East Sikkim have been selected by National Independent Jury for conferment of National Award for Teachers, 2020.

The Ministry of Education, Department of School Education & Literacy, had earlier constituted an Independent Jury at National Level to select the award recipients for the year 2020 which received and reviewed the list of 153 teachers as shortlisted by all the 36 State & UT Selection Committees and 7 Organisation Selection Committees through Video Conferencing. The Jury considered the presentations made by all shortlisted teachers and after detailed deliberations recommended the names of the 45 teachers and 02 from special category candidates for the National Awards to Teachers, 2020.

This may also be noted that the competition is a general in nature at the national level and there is no quota system and hence the number of awards is not allotted to any of the States. Yet, Sikkim has been able to bag two awards out of the total three nominations which could be sent.

The candidates nominated by the States and UTs had made their presentation before the jury on August 11, 2020, virtually from the NIC Gangtok. Before that, 03 candidates were shortlisted by the State’s Selection Committee, headed by ACS Education. There is a nominee of the Government of India also in the Committee.

Out of the total 45 teachers selected from all over the nation, 02 teachers out of 03 nominations have been selected from Sikkim for this prestigious award. This is, indeed, a proud moment for our State especially when many States have not been able to get any because the selection is purely on the merit of the top 45 candidates.

Honble Chief Minister Sri Prem Singh Tamang has expressed his happiness and has also mentioned further that it is indeed a proud moment for our State as many States have drawn a blank because the selection is purely on the merit. He has congratulated both the teachers for making us and our State proud.

The Minister for Education Kunga Nima Lepcha has expressed his hearty congratulations to the awardees on being selected for receiving the National Award to Teachers, 2020. He has further mentioned that this is indeed great news for Sikkim that they have done proud of our State. Out of 45 selected teachers from all over India, Sikkim getting two awards itself is a great achievement.

The Additional Chief Secretary, Education Sri GP Upadhyaya has said that these teachers have made the State hugely proud and congratulated them. He also mentioned that two out of three candidates, selected by the State Level Committee headed by himself, getting the National Award has vindicated fair and appropriate selection.

Report by Prakash, Special Correspondent Sikkim

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.