TIPRA Motha second list of candidates for Tripura Assembly polls

Guwahati: Ahead to the Tripura Assembly elections, the Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA Motha) issued a second list of candidates on January 30.

As per the list, Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Barma has fielded Nitai Sarkar from Bamutia, Swapna Debbarama from Mandaibazar, Biswajit Kalai from Takarjala, Ashish Das from Kamalasagar, MD Shah Alam Miah from Bishalgarh, Manav Debbarma from Golaghati, Abhijit Sarkar from Teliamura, Kshir Mohan Das from Kakraban-Salgarh, Abhhijit Malakar from Rajnagar, Pathan Lal Jamatia from Ampinagar, Nandita Debbarma Reang from Raima Valley and Ranjan Sinha from Chandipur.

A list of 20 candidates for the forthcoming Assembly election which is scheduled to take place on February 16 was announced by TIPRA Motha on January 28.

As per the list, Brishaketu Debbarma who was the first to quit the BJP-IPFT alliance and joined TIPRA Motha will be contesting from Simna constituency while Deputy CEM of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) Animesh Debbarma will be contesting from Asharambari seat.

On the other hand, 46-Surma and 51-Fatikroy are the two SC seats from where Shyamal Sarkar and Bilas Malakar will contest.

It needs to be noted that TIPRA Motha, a regional political party from Tripura that has become a significant political force in the election-bound state has decided to run alone after three days of negotiations with the governing BJP in New Delhi. The saffron party reportedly failed to provide any written assurance of TIPRA Motha’s ‘constitutional solution’.

Royal Scion and TIPRA Chairman Motha Padyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma shared a video on Twitter in which he stated that an alliance would not be possible until and until the Indian government agreed to grant their demand for “Greater Tipraland” in writing.

“There were many speculations that were circulating in media in last three days that TIPRA to go in the alliance. But I said earlier and today also I am saying that there will be no alliance until and unless the government of India doesn’t give assurance in writing of our constitutional solution, till then there would be no alliance”, said Pradyot.

He further asserted that many people would not believe him, but since 1977, a number of tribal regional political groups had travelled to Delhi, reached agreements prior to elections, and then deprived the indigenous population of the state.

“There will no compromise with our demand ‘Greater Tipraland’. We went to Delhi and listened to them carefully. But they didn’t give us anything in writing. I want to tell my Tipra Motha warriors that there will be no alliance in this election. Today we are finalizing our candidates’ list and there will no alliance. I will contest to defeat them who are against our demand. This will be the last fight”, Pradyot added.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.