Voting Ends With 81.10 % Voter Turnout In Tripura Assembly Polls

Guwahati: The Election Commission has been informed on Thursday that voting for the Tripura Assembly elections ended at 4 pm with a voter participation of 81.10 percent.

The Election Commission (EC) reported on Thursday that the voter turnout in Tripura’s ongoing election for 60 Assembly seats was 69.96% as of 3 p.m.

More than 69.96% of eligible voters were registered to vote as of 3 p.m., followed by 51.35 % at 1 p.m., 32.06 % at 11 a.m., and 13.69 % at 9 a.m.

The 259 candidates’ futures will be decided in the current elections for 60 Assembly seats.

An alliance between the Congress and CPM is fighting in the polls this year, while the Trinamool Congress has also fielded candidates for various seats. The Tipra Motha, an alliance of regional organisations, is the underdog in the current election and could end up being the deciding factor if the Assembly is evenly divided.

The Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura, a BJP ally, won the remaining five assembly seats after the BJP announced candidates for 55 of the seats (IPFT).

For all 60 seats, the Left-Congress coalition announced candidates.

Almost 28.14 lakh people were registered to vote this year, with 14,15,233 men, 13,99,289 women, and 62 people who identify as a third gender.

There are now 3,337 polling places open for voting.

With 97 all-women police stations, adequate security measures were put in place for the elections. There are 94,815 voters between the ages of 18 and 19 and 6,21,505 between the ages of 22 and 29. The age bracket of 40 to 59 has the most voters (9,81,089).

There are now 259 people running for Assembly seats from various parties.

The first state to hold elections this year is Tripura, while elections for the Nagaland and Meghalaya assemblies will take place on February 27.

Prior to the Lok Sabha elections in 2024, elections will be held in five additional states this year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.