Amrita Prabha Deuri Sworn In As Head of Deori Autonomous Council

Guwahati: Amrita Prabha Deuri took her oath to lead the Deori Autonomous Council on Tuesday.

Lakhimpur District Commissioner Sumit Sattawan administered the oath to the Deori Autonomous Council members today.

On the other hand, Bhaskar Deuri and Bhairab Deuri both took the oath of office to serve as members of the executive branch.

It should be noted that when the results of the elections held last month were announced, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) retained control of the Deori Autonomous Council (DAC) in the state.

The BJP and AGP won 12 of the total 22 seats, while the opposition Congress got just two. Seven of the remaining seats were won by the Jimochhaya People’s Party (JPP), while one seat was won by an independent candidate.

Notably, about 80% of the total 43,595 voters participated in the council election voting.

Voting had taken place in 93 polling locations across six districts and four subdivisions.

As many as 75 people were running, including 29 JPP and independent candidates as well as 18 BJP, 4 AGP, 14 Congress, 7 AAP and 1 AJP candidates.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.