Assam: BJP finalises candidates for remaining 19 seats

The BJP has finalised Party candidates for Assam’s remaining 19 Assembly Seats that will go to Poll in the Final Phase (April 6). The Final list is likely to be announced on Sunday. The Party Election Panel Meeting attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President JP Nadda, Union Ministers Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh finalized the Candidates. After the Meeting on Assam concluded, the entire delegation led by Sonowal left for the State in a Chartered Flight.

The State BJP Leadership in consultation with the Central Leadership has finalised candidates for 15 of the 19 seats, while the remaining Four Seats were left to the Party Election panel to decide, Assam Tribune reported. The Four Seats for which candidates are yet to be finalised are Gauhati East, Hajo, Dispur and Palasbari. Sources said a consensus has emerged for Gauhati East and Hajo constituencies where sitting MLAs Siddhartha Bhattacharya and Suman Haripriya, respectively may be renominated.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.