Assam CM: Biswanath, Hojai, Bajali and Tamulpur are no longer districts

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Saturday informed that the merger of four districts has received approval from the cabinet.

The decision was taken during a cabinet meeting in New Delhi which was presided over by Himanta Biswa Sarma.

According to Sarma’s declaration, Hojai will be merged with Nagaon district, Tamulpur to come under the Baksa district, Bajali to be merged with the Barpeta district, and Biswanath district will be merged with Sonitpur district.

He added that these decisions were taken in the interest of Assam and society and due to administrative superiority.

”We have decided to remerge four districts. Decisions were taken in the interest of Assam’s future,” Sarma said while addressing a press conference after the cabinet meeting.

Sarma said that all other district offices established during this time period would also continue, ensuring that neither officials nor staff would encounter any difficulties. The police and judiciary will also continue to operate in these areas.

Notably, all of these decisions were taken on December 31 even though the Election Commission of India (ECI) had instructed the government not to create any new administrative units while the delimitation process was underway. The government will start following the delimitation process on January 1.

“Hence whatever pending proposals were there, or 13-14 remerge, amalgamation process was there, were taken up in today’s cabinet meeting,” Sarma added.

It needs to be noted that a senior ADC will be posted as an SDO in place of the district commissioners of the aforementioned districts that will be merged.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.