Assam: Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal Casts Vote in Dibrugarh, Kicking Off Lok Sabha Elections’ First Phase

Guwahati, 19th April: Union Minister and BJP candidate Sarbananda Sonowal exercised his electoral right in Dibrugarh, Assam, signaling the commencement of the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections.

Sonowal is locked in a contest against Lurinjyoti Gogoi from the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) for the Dibrugarh constituency, after the BJP chose him over sitting MP Rameshwar Teli.

AAP candidate Manoj Dhanowar is also in the fray.

Voting for five seats in Assam, including Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Kaziranga, Sonitpur, and Lakhimpur, began at 7 am, covering over 8.647 million eligible voters across 10,001 polling booths.

The electorate will decide the fate of 35 candidates, including Sonowal, Gogoi, and Gaurav Gogoi of the Congress.

While the BJP contests all five seats in the first phase, the Congress vies for four, the AAP for two, and the Trinamool Congress, the Assam Jatiya Parishad, and CPI for one each.

Read More: Sikkim Assembly Election: PwD-Managed Polling Booth Opens in Gangtok District

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.