Congress releases final list of candidates for Meghalaya Assembly Polls

Guwahati: The Congress has released its final list of candidates for the Meghalaya Assembly elections, a senior party leader stated on January 29.

Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee President and MP Vincent H Pala stated that the central election committee has approved the final list of five candidates (CEC).

The five candidates are Jhanika Siangshai (Khliehriat), Arbiangkam Khar Sohmat (Amlarem), Chireng Peter R Marak (Kharkutta), Dr Tweel K Marak (Resubelpara) and Carla R Sangma (Rajabala), he said.

The party revealed the names of 55 candidates for the 60-member state Assembly on January 25.

Pala, whose name appeared on the original list, will run for the assembly from the Sutnga-Saipung constituency in the East Jaintia Hills district.

Election to the Meghalaya Assembly is scheduled to be held on February 27 and the last date for filing nominations is February 7. The counting of votes will be held on March 2

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.