First Phase of Election in Tripura’s West Parliamentary Constituency Sees 15.9% Voter Turnout Amidst Tight Security

Northeast Desk, 19th April: The election process for the first phase in Tripura’s West Parliamentary Constituency commenced at 7 AM, with a voter turnout of 15.9% recorded by 9 AM amidst stringent security measures.

According to sources from the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, initial reports indicated some malfunctioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in certain polling stations, swiftly resolved by authorities.

“No violence has taken place thus far, and the voter turnout stood at 15.9% by 9 AM,” the source confirmed.

In the electoral fray for the West Parliamentary Constituency, BJP’s candidate Biplab Kumar Deb will compete against INDI Bloc candidate Asish Kumar Saha, who also serves as the Tripura Congress president.

The West Tripura Parliamentary Constituency comprises 30 assembly constituency segments distributed across 14 Assembly Constituencies in West, 9 in Sepahijala, 4 in Gomati, and 3 in South District.

A total of 14,61,836 electorates are expected to cast their votes, including 7,33,645 male voters, 7,28,315 female voters, and 58 transgender voters.

Read More: Congress Candidate Angomcha Bimol Akoijam Casts Vote in Inner Manipur Loksabha Constituency

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.