India Elected as Non-Permanent Member of UN Security Council

Amidst the Indo-China clash India was elected as non-permanent member of UN security council for a two-year term on Wednesday. Along with India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections that was held on Wednesday.

India won 184 votes out of total 192 votes. To get the non-permanent member India needed a majority vote of 128  and India earned 184 votes. However Canada lost the elections. Now India will sit along with five permanent members China, France, Russia, UK & US in the security council. PM Modi also tweeted out on getting the 2 year non-permanent seat and showed his gratitude to global community for supporting India in the elections.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.