Lalramliana Papiua Secures Victory in Lunglei South as ZPM Sweeps Mizoram Assembly Elections

Northeast Desk, 4th December: In a closely contested battle for the Lunglei South assembly constituency in Mizoram, Lalramliana Papiua of the Zoram People’s Movement emerges victorious with 6531 votes, leading a competitive race.

Dr. K. Pachhunga of the Mizo National Front trails behind with 5305 votes, while Meriam L Hrangchal from the Indian National Congress garners 3899 votes.

Independent candidate ZD Dengngura secures 114 votes, and T. Biaksailova of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) garners 87 votes. Notably, 69 voters choose the “None of the Above” (NOTA) option.

In a stunning upset in the broader Mizoram election results, ZPM, led by Lalduhoma, secures a simple majority by winning 27 out of the 40 assembly seats.

This unseats the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) and incumbent Chief Minister Zoramthanga, marking a significant political shift in the state.

The highlight of the election includes Zoramthanga’s defeat in Aizawl East to ZPM’s Lalthansanga by a substantial margin of 2,101 votes.

ZPM’s Chief Ministerial candidate, Lalduhoma, secures a decisive victory in Serchhip, triumphing over the MNF candidate by 2,982 votes.

The MNF manages to secure seven seats and is leading in three more. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secures two wins, while the Indian National Congress leads in one seat.

Read More: Zoram People’s Movement Celebrates Victory as Baryl Vanneihsangi Tlau Triumphs in Aizawl South-III

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.