Section 144A CrPC Imposed in Nagaland’s 3 Districts

Guwahati: Three districts of Nagaland have implemented Section 144A of the CrPC.

By using the authority granted by Section 144A of the Criminal Procedure Code, District Magistrate Kevithuto Sophie and the Commissioner of Police have made it illegal for anybody to possess weapons in the districts of Dimapur, Chumoukedima, or Niuland.

This action was taken when the state’s assembly elections were given dates. A prohibition order was also issued by the Dimapur Police to guarantee that there are no unfavourable situations when the elections are being conducted.

The district magistrate further ordered that everyone who holds an arms licence in the districts of Dimapur, Chumoukedima and Niuland must leave their weapons at the closest police station by no later than February 10.

It should be remembered that the Election Commission on Wednesday announced the dates for the legislative elections in the three northeastern states of Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland. On February 27, Nagaland will hold its legislative elections. The results will be declared on March 2.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.