Seven member Congress team to visit Assam-Mizoram border

Guwahati: With tensions on the Assam-Mizoram border after the clashes and death of at least five Assam Police personnel, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) has formed a seven-member committee to visit Cachar and any other area to assess the Assam-Mizoram border dispute on the ground and the ensuing violence that has cost the lives of police personnel amongst others.

The members of the committee are APCC president Bhupen Bora President, CLP Leader Debabrata Saikia, MP Pradyut Bordoloi, Deputy CLP Rockibul Hussain, MP Gaurav Gogoi, President of All India Mahila Congress Sushmita Deb, and APCC Working President Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha.

It may be mentioned that severe tensions are going on between Assam and Mizoram related to border disputes across several areas. During those curfews, at least five Assam Police personnel were killed while more than 60 persons were reported to have been injured in the clashes.

Among the injured, Cachar’s Superintendent of Police is in a severe and critical condition. He is being shifted to Mumbai for better treatment.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.