Congress appoints new DCC presidents in Assam

Guwahati: A day after Rajib Lochan Pegu resigned from his post as the president of the Majuli District Congress Committee, the State Congress leadership appointed Dhadi Barua as the acting president of Majuli.

Over the past few months, drift was seen among the Congress members where several leaders and workers of the Congress resigned from the party and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party. Similarly, top leaders such as Rupjyoti Kurmi and Jury Sharma Bordoloi also joined the BJP quitting the Congress.

Following the resignations, the APCC has now assigned three leaders as acting presidents for three districts namely, Sonitpur, Guwahati, and Majuli.

Apart from Barua, the APCC appointed Swapan Das as acting president of Sonitpur DCC while  Dwipen Bora will be the Guwahati DCC president.

The Congress in the Assam claimed that till the party gets a permanent replacement for the vacant posts, the mentioned leaders will be given the responsibilities for these districts.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.