Five Districts to be under Total Containment

Guwahati: The new directives related to the COVID-19 SOP were announced on Monday with certain new changes.

The new SOP states:


  1. Five districts will be under containment zone including Golagaht, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur, and Biswanath districts.
  2. The curfew in these five districts will be round the clock, however, the districts showing moderate positivity rate including Goalpara and Morigaon districts will be from 1 pm to 5 am.
  3. The district showing moderate improvement in positivity case including Dhubri, Kamrup (M), South Salmara, Majuli, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Udalguri, West Karbi Anglong, Dima Hasao, Charaideo, Hailakandi, Dibrugarh, Sivasagar, Kokrajahar, Barpeta, Nalbari, Baksa, Bajali, Kamrup, Darrang, Nagaon, Hoaji, Tinsukia, Dhemaji, Cachar, Karimganj and Karbi Anglong the curfew timing will be from 5 pm to 5 am.



  1. All workplaces, business establishments, shop dealing with groceries, fruits and vegetables, dairy and milk booths, animal fodder, restaurants, Dhabas and other eateries, sale counters, showrooms, etc. of cold storages and warehouses will be open till 12 noon in districts showing moderate positivity rate and till 4 pm in districts showing improvement in positivity rate.



  1. There shall be a total ban on the movement of public and private transport in the total containment districts. However, the movement of goods shall continue.
  2. In other districts, all public transport authorities shall enforce COVID 19 appropriate behavior and seating inside the vehicles, carriers, containers, etc.

All inter-district passenger transport services and movement of people to and from other districts shall remain suspended.

Regarding the celebration of EID, all persons are to celebrate from their home. Namaz at the mosque is allowed with only 5 persons maximum including the religious head.

Excise authority will take strong action against illegal production and sale of country liquor in all the districts.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.