IPFT MLA resigns

Guwahati/Agartala: Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) MLA Brishaketu Debbarmaa resigned from the Assembly citing “personal ground” on Tuesday.

The strength of the party following the resignation came down to seven with while BJP has 36 members in the 60 member house.

IPFT President Narendra Chandra Debbarma and party General Secretary Mangal Debbarma stated that they are unable to contact the MLA as his phone was switched off.

He was elected to the Assembly in the 2018 Assembly polls from the Simna(ST) Assembly seat in West Tripura.
Reportedly, the MLA has a chance of joining the TIPRA Motha.

Crushing the CPI-M led Left Front after 25 years after the BJP-IPFT led alliance came to power in March 2018. Tuesday night’s political development is the first setback for the saffron party-led government.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.