Meghalaya: NPP Announces Names of 58 Candidates For Assembly Polls

Guwahati: The National People’s Party (NPP) released the names of 58 candidates on Thursday ahead of the Meghalaya assembly elections.

Over 10,000 people attended the “Stronger Together” event at Shillong’s Polo Grounds where the names were announced.

The chief minister and president of the NPP Conrad Sangma will contest once more from South Tura LAC, while James P. K. Sangma, a cabinet member will contest from Dadenggre LAC. Prestone Tynsong, the deputy chief minister will contest from the Pynursla (ST) LAC.

Ampareen Lyngdoh, a former state minister who just joined the NPP has been handed a party ticket to run for the East Shillong LAC, which she previously represented in the current Assembly until she recently resigned as an MLA.

During the ceremony, a document titled “Pledges Delivered” was released that detailed the promises made during the 2018 election and the successes of the state’s NPP-led administration.

CM Sangma welcomed all the candidates and leaders from other political parties stating that their primary motivation for joining the party was to serve the state’s citizens rather than pursue personal political ambitions.

Sangma told the crowd that Meghalaya’s administration under the NPP made sure that numerous programmes were planned and carried out in a systematic manner which led to the state’s rapid growth and development.

According to him, Meghalaya has improved in a number of ranks whether it will be in the social sector or infrastructural development and numerous indices and growth estimates have improved in the state over the past five years.

Conrad Sangma said, “Given the opportunity in 2023, I assure you that we will find a solution and resolve the border issue, so that people in the state can live in peace, especially those living in the border areas.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.