Nagaland: NDPP Ready to Give Up Its 4 Urban Seats to BJP

Guwahati: The Ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and its affiliate BJP have decided to share four of its urban seats upcoming Nagaland Assembly elections.

According to reports, despite the demands of a number of leaders from both parties, the coalition partners have chosen to keep the 40:20 seat-sharing ratio that the NDPP and the BJP employed in the 2018 elections.
Out of the 20 seats it held, the BJP sought four urban seats: Kohima Town, Mon Town, Tuensamg Sadar-II, and Wokha. This demand apparently received approval from Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, making the arrangement formal. The information was confirmed by BJP leaders in the state.

Kohima Town was won by Dr. Neikiesalie (Nicky) Kire, an NDPP candidate in the 2018 elections.

But NPF candidates defeated the coalition for the final three seats.

As of right now, there is no information on any further components that the two of them might share.

The party stated on Twitter (@BJP4Nagaland) that the meeting was presided over by State President Temjen Imna Along, attended by deputy chief minister Y. Patton, national BJP spokesperson Nalin Kohli, BJP legislators S. Pangnyu Phom, Jacob Zhimomi, and Mmhonlumo Kikon, Rajya Sabha MP S. Phangnon Konyak, BJP secretary (Org) for Nagaland Ab The BJP central election committee will make the final decision regarding the constituencies in which the party will be fielding candidates because the agreement was final.

Reportedly, the tickets will be distributed as soon as this is decided.

Remember that the NDPP and the BJP both adamantly claimed that the 40:20 seat sharing agreement would not be altered in the midst of complaints about ticket distribution.

Neiphiu Rio, the chief minister of Nagaland made it abundantly clear to media members on the sidelines of the 74th Republic Day celebration at the Nagaland Civil Secretariat Plaza in Kohima on Thursday that there would be no changes made to the agreement because it was founded on a consensus between the two parties.

“Seat sharing has already been decided, and there is nothing more that can be changed,” Rio stated.

Our final choice is that. Because everyone was present when the decision was taken, we shall abide by it.

The PHE Minister, Jacob Zhimomi emphasised the same idea and declared that the NDPP and BJP’s resolution to divide seats among themselves will not be changed.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.