Preparations Complete for Nagaland’s Lone Lok Sabha Election

Northeast Desk, 18th April: With all arrangements finalized, Nagaland gears up for the upcoming Lok Sabha election, where over 13.25 lakh voters are poised to determine the fate of three candidates vying for the single parliamentary seat.

BJP President J.P. Nadda, along with Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and Deputy Chief Ministers T.R. Zeliang and Y. Patton, has spearheaded numerous rallies in support of their alliance’s candidate.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders Jairam Ramesh and Randeep Singh Surjewala, accompanied by other AICC members, have campaigned extensively for Congress candidate Jamir.

Polling is scheduled to commence at 7 am and conclude at 4 pm, ensuring ample time for voters to cast their ballots, as confirmed by an official.

Among the electorate, over 19,999 first-time voters, 22,140 senior citizens above 85 years, and 6,707 individuals with disabilities are eligible to participate in the electoral process.

Notably, Nagaland boasts more female electors, totaling 6,64,460 voters, compared to 6,60,923 male voters, reflecting gender parity in voter registration.

A total of 180 polling parties have been dispatched to the 2,342 polling stations across the state, with 588 stations identified as critical and vulnerable.

The election infrastructure includes 506 all-women polling stations and four booths managed by persons with disabilities, ensuring inclusivity and accessibility.

Enhanced security measures encompass the deployment of 48 companies of CAPF, 50 companies of state police, Indian Reserve Battalions, Special Task Force, along with 600 Home Guards personnel and Village guards.

Despite the Eastern Nagaland Peoples’ Organisation’s declaration of abstention from voting, polling parties have been dispatched to oversee the 738 polling stations in the six districts of the area.

In the previous 2019 Lok Sabha elections, NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi secured victory over Congress candidate K.L. Chishi by a margin of 13,000 votes, setting the stage for another closely contested electoral battle.

Read More: Assam: AGP-BJP Alliance Candidate Phani Bhusan Chowdhury Files Nomination Papers in Barpeta

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.