President Kovind to confer Padma awards today

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind will confer Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri Awards for the year 2022.

The ceremony will be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today.

As per a Press Release issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, amongst the prominent awardees at today’s Investiture ceremony will be Padma Vibhushan recipients – Prabha Atre and Kalyan Singh (Posthumous).

Padma Bhushan recepients – Victor Banerjee, Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram (Posthumous), Pratibha Ray and Acharya Vashishtha Tripathi as also Krishna Murthy Ella and Suchitra Krishna Ella (Duo). The Civil Investiture Ceremony – I was held on March 21.

The Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. These Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

This year a total of 128 Padma Awards are being conferred, including two duo cases (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one). The list of awardees comprises four Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.