R-Day Parade Concludes With Spectacular Airshow, Stunning Motorcycle Display

Guwahati: The 74th Republic Day parade in India came to an end on Thursday at Kartavya Path following an impressive display of the nation’s military prowess and rich cultural diversity.

After the ceremony, President Droupadi Murmu and Chief Guest of the Republic Day Parade, Egyptian President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi, were led to Rashtrapati Bhavan by the President’s Bodyguard.

A Fly Past by 45 Indian Air Force aircraft, one Indian Navy aircraft, and four Indian Army helicopters served as the Parade’s spectacular conclusion.

The breathtaking demonstration of bravery in the Indian motorcycle display and air show that marked the end of the procession enthralled the spectators.

At the conclusion of the event, Prime Minister Narendra Modi was seen waving to spectators.

President Droupadi Murmu signalled the start of the march to mark Republic Day from the Kartavya Path. Abdel Fattah El-Sisi, the President of Egypt, escorted her when she arrived at the event.

The national flag was raised by President Murmu, who then fired the traditional 21-gun salute. Notably, 105 mm Indian Field Guns were used for the 21 Gun Salute for the first time. It took the place of the old 25-pounder weapon.

An Egyptian Armed Forces contingent marched at the start of the parade. An Egyptian Army detachment under the command of Colonel Mahmoud Mohamed Abdel Fattah El Kharasawy marched onto Kartavya Path for the first time.

The contingents marched at the Kartavya Path depicting utmost discipline of the Indian forces. Parade Commander, Lieutenant General Dhiraj Seth, a recipient of Ati Vishisth Seva Medal, marching down the ceremonial boulevard, followed by the Parade Second-in-Command, Major General Bhavnish Kumar.

The proud winners of the highest gallantry awards — the Param Vir Chakra and the Ashok Chakra — followed the Parade Commander.

Subedar Major (Honorary Capt) Bana Singh, Param Vir Chakra (Retd), 8 JAK LI Subedar Major (Honorary Capt) Yogender Singh Yadav, Param Vir Chakra, 18 GRENADIERS (Retd) Subedar Major Sanjay Kumar, Param Vir Chakra, 13 JAK RIF.

The most egregious display of bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of the enemy is recognised with the Param Vir Chakra. Similar bravery and self-sacrifice are recognised with the Ashok Chakra, but not always in the face of an enemy.

The Ashoka Chakra awardees include Maj Gen CA Pithawalla, Ashok Chakra (Retd), Colonel D Sreeram Kumar, Ashok Chakra, Lt Col Jas Ram Singh, Ashok Chakra (Retd).

The Republic Day Parade in 2023 featured female riders on their adorned camels for the first time, followed by a “CARAVAN” to showcase the theme of Indian women’s empowerment in various sectors.

The 144-member Naval Contingent was commanded by Lt Cdr Disha Amrith, who also served as the contingent’s platoon commander, and by Lt Ashwani Singh, Sub Lt Priyanka Sharma, and Sub Lt M Aditya. The noteworthy aspect was that the marching contingent included three female Agniveers and six male Agniveers for the first time in history.

The Parade concluded with the National Anthem.

However, Republic Day activities will go on and conclude on January 30, which is Martyrs’ Day.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.