Re-polling Underway in Arunachal Pradesh Amidst Violence Reports

Northeast Desk, 24th April: Re-polling commenced at eight polling stations across four assembly segments in four districts of Arunachal Pradesh, beginning at 6 am and scheduled to continue until 2 pm.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) ordered the re-poll at these stations following reports of violence and booth snatching during the initial polling conducted on April 19. The ECI declared the initial polling void in light of these incidents.

Initially, polling for 50 assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh took place at 2,226 polling stations across the state. The ruling BJP secured 10 assembly seats uncontested. Currently, 133 candidates are competing for the 50 assembly seats, while 14 candidates are contesting the two Lok Sabha seats.

A total of 8,88,816 voters, comprising 4,33,760 males and 4,49,050 females, are set to decide the fate of the 147 candidates in this crucial electoral process. As re-polling continues, authorities are ensuring heightened security measures to maintain peace and fairness in the voting process.

Read More: Assam: Man apprehended with handmade rifle in Goalpara

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.