4 New Ministers Inducted Into the Mizoram Cabinet

Guwahati: Mizoram Chief Minister Zoramthanga added four new ministers to his existing cabinet on Tuesday.

Three existing ministers of State- K. Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte and Lalruatkima and former state assembly deputy speaker were inducted into the state cabinet.

Mizoram Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati administered the oath of office to the four new ministers at a swearing-in ceremony held at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl.

Currently, Mizoram has two ministers of state and ten cabinet ministers, including the chief minister.

Excise & Narcotics, Animal Husbandry & Veterinary, Social Welfare, and Sericulture were given to Lalrinawma, who resigned from her position as deputy speaker on December 15. K. Beichhua had left Zoramthanga’s ministry on December 13.

K. Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte and Lalruatkima retain their existing portfolios. 

Sources in the MNF office said that Lawngtlai East constituency politician H. Biakzuava is most likely to replace the deputy speaker.

Siaha constituency resident Beichhua resigned from her position as minister of state on December 13.

He had claimed that Zoramthanga had instructed him to leave because she wanted to rearrange the cabinet and ministries.

According to reports, the MNF leader may join the BJP before the state assembly elections.

The 40-member Mizoram assembly will be chosen in the latter half of the next year.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has 28 members, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)- 7, Congress- 5 and BJP has one member in the present assembly.

Although MNF is a member of BJP led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) and an ally of NDA government at the Centre, the party does not align and work with the BJP in the state. 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.